The Queen is NOT Pleased

April 26, 2013

Who, What, Where, When, WHY????

Filed under: Uncategorized — by traumamama67 @ 8:21 am

Image

So yesterday was the event formerly known as “Take Your Daughters to Work Day,” a happening created to help close the job gap between men and women, which has since morphed into “Take Your Daughters and Sons to Work Day,” which was conceived to, well, I don’t know – show off your kids?

My department at work held a seminar to give a group of these kids a glimpse of what it would be like to “Be a Reporter for a Day.”  As part of this, I was asked to write a short piece to describe how I felt leading up to the day.  Well, in typical Queen fashion, I had written something slightly acerbic.  And when I got up in front of this group of bright-eyed, bushy-tailed girls (and boys), you know what?  I couldn’t read it.  So instead I did a little extemporaneous speaking about how I was looking forward to the day, how I hoped they would learn something, blah blah blah.  But for your amusement, here is what I originally intended to read these fresh-faced sponges of knowledge and wisdom.

Today I get to work with a group of kids in a seminar called “Be A Reporter for a Day.”  This seems like a somewhat cruel endeavor, given the fact that the job of ‘newspaper reporter’ was just listed as the worst job possible just two days ago in a national survey.

Nonetheless, I have dusted of my five w’s and inverted pyramid and am looking forward to the challenge.

Who knows, some of them may end up being inspired to be a reporter someday.  And for that I refuse to be held accountable.

I read it to W. last night (after the event).  He looked at me in stunned silence, shook his head, and walked away.

oh well…..

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.